Transmission line fittings

High-quality fittings for overhead line energy transmission and distribution up to 1,200 kV.

Mosdorfer’s experience in forging technology has been shaping innovative products for more than 300 years. Today these are fittings for overhead transmission lines up to a voltage level of 1,200 kV. These products contribute to the safe and reliable energy transmission all over the world.

Besides holistic turnkey-systems, always adapted to local conditions, Mosdorfer also offers the well-aimed development and production of highly customer specific single components.

The product portfolio includes:

  • Sting fittings
  • Fittings for OPGW, OPPC and ADSS
  • Damping systems
  • End fittings for composite insulators
  • Fittings for high-temperature conductors
  • Fittings for deep-temperature charpy level

Mosdorfer technology being applied in more than 1,000 projects globally – from the desert to the highest mountains – are obvious sign for technical competence and high product quality.

Strings for Transmission Lines

Doppel Hängekette Satteltragklemme Bosporuskreuzung

Insulator strings for high-voltage overhead transmission lines provide the mechanical insulator system between the live conductors and the tower. The biggest share of the string is taken by the insulators, which are made of porcelain, glass or composite materials. The connecting elements, which are also called fittings in technical jargon, guarantee mechanical connection of all the components.

Clamps (Tension-, Suspension-, Parallel Groove Clamps)

Tension clamps connect conductors to tension strings and withstand the required mechanical holding forces.

  • A distinction is made between two types of tension clamps:
    • Disconnectable clamps, such as wedge tension clamps, bolted type tension clamps and helical dead ends with strain thimbles can be adjusted.
    • Compression dead end clamps, are permanent connections, and cannot be reopened to adjust the sag or tension adjustments.

Suspension clamps support and connect conductors onto insulator strings. Parallel groove clamps provide electrical connection between two conductors, and mainly used in jumper loops with wedge type tension clamps.

Damping Systems (Spacers and spacer dampers, Vibration dampers)

Due to laminar wind, overhead transmission lines will be excited to vibrations and oscillations that can lead to damage on the conductor of the overhead transmission line, single parts or  towers. In order to reduce these vibrations and oscillations to an uncritical dimension, damping systems will have to be installed in the overhead transmission lines.

The Stockbridge damper provides effective protection. Wind-induced vibrations can cause breakages on conductors. Here the Stockbridge damper counteracts. Inventor for this was George Stockbridge in 1924.

For Spacer Dampers in bundled lines, Mosodrfer is cooperating with DAMP s.r.l. (www.damp.it), a wholly owned Mosdorfer GmbH company and fully integrated into the Knill Energy group based in Austria Download Folder Damp

Overhead line spacers add reliability and protection to the conductor bundle, by separating conductors preventing clashing under operating conditions.

On tensioned overhead conductors, wind flow leads to high-frequency vibrations, with amplitudes in the magnitude of one conductor diameter. This is caused by vortex shedding, which excites the conductor into Aeolian vibrations at right angles to the wind direction.

Suitable vibration dampers prevent that fatigue stresses will damage the conductor, causing strand breakage and cable failure.

Arcing devices

Arcing devices must fulfil two functions:

  • Protecting against Corona effect
  • Protecting the insulator from the effects of a power arc

OPGW and Earthwire

Erdseilenarmaturen

Earthwires of overhead transmission lines will be usually fixed on top of the poles and primarily serve to protect the conductors from lightning and thus to increase operating safety because the necessity to shut off the facilities on short notice will be reduced.

Due to the trend towards central remote control and control of in-house facilities, such as power plants or substations, earthwires were successively being replaced by earthwires with integrated optical fibres. In addition, these OPGW (Optical Ground Wires) did not only serve for active lightning protection but also played an active role in data transmission.

Insulator caps

For composite insulators, we manufacture fittings made of hot-dip galvanized steel or aluminum. Our range of products includes socket caps, ball caps, clevis caps, y-clevis caps and various other caps acc. to IEC 60120 and ANSI C29.2 as well as per customer specification. All the fittings are produced in-house.

Freileitungsarmaturen

Hoch-qualitative Armaturen zur Stromübertragung und -verteilung über Freileitungen bis 1.200 kV.

Die Schmiedetechnologie von Mosdorfer formt seit mehr als 300 Jahren innovative Produkte. Seit nunmehr 69 Jahren sind dies Armaturen für Hochspannungsfreileitungen bis 1.200 kV. Diese dienen als Verbindungselemente zwischen Strommast und Isolator sowie Isolator und Leiterseil. Somit tragen Mosdorfer Produkte rund um die Welt zur sicheren und störungsfreien Stromübertragung bei.

Neben ganzheitlichen, stets an lokale Gegebenheiten angepassten Gesamtsystemen wird ebenso die gezielte Entwicklung und Produktion von kundenspezifischen Einzelkomponenten angeboten. Das Produktportfolio umfasst:

  • Kettenarmaturen
  • Armaturen für Lichtwellenleiter
  • Isolatorkappen
  • Dämpfungssysteme
  • Armaturen für Hochtemperaturseile
  • Armaturen für tiefe Temperaturen aus kaltzähem Stahl

Mosdorfer Produktsysteme eingesetzt in mehr als 1.000 Projekten weltweit – von den heißesten Wüsten bis in die höchsten Berge – sind ein klares Zeichen für technische Kompetenz und höchste Qualität.

Kettenarmaturen

Isolatorenketten von Hochspannungs-Freileitungen stellen die mechanische Isolationsstrecke zwischen den stromführenden Leiterseilen und dem Mast dar. Den größten Anteil der Kette umfassen die Isolatoren, welche aus Porzellan, Glas oder Verbundmaterialien hergestellt werden. Die Verbindungselemente, im Fachjargon auch Armaturen genannt, gewährleisten die Verbindung aller Einzelkomponenten.

Klemmen (Abspann-, Hänge- u. Stromklemmen)

Abspannklemmen dienen dem zugfesten Befestigen von Leiterseilen an den Abpannketten, wobei man zwei verschiedene Systeme unterscheidet

  • Lösbare Klemmen wie Keilabspannklemmen, Bügelabspannklemmen, Abspannspiralen und Kauschen, die ein Nachsetzen erlauben.
  • Nicht lösbare Pressabspannklemmen, bei denen ein genaues Ablängen der Seillänge unerlässlich ist.

Hängeklemmen dienen dem Befestigen von Leiterseilen an Isolatorhängeketten.

Stromklemmen dienen dem Verbinden zweier Leiter, vor allem für Stromschlaufen bei Abspannmasten, wenn Keilabspannklemmen verwendet werden.

  • Ein weiteres Anwendungsgebiet ist das Abzweigen zu Geräten in Schaltanlagen.

Dämpfungssysteme (Schwingungsschutzarmaturen+Feldabstandhalter)

Freileitungsseile werden aufgrund laminarer Windströmungen zu Schwingungen angeregt, die zu Schäden am Freileitungsseil, einzelner Komponenten oder am Mast führen können. Um diese Schwingungen auf ein unkritisches Maß zu reduzieren, müssen Dämpfungssysteme in die Freileitung eingebaut werden.

Der Stockbridge-Dämpfer stellt einen effektiven Schutz dar. Durch windbedingte Schwingungen können Brüche am Leiterseil und am  entstehen. Hier wirkt der Stockbridge-Dämpfer entgegen. Erfinder hierfür war George Stockbridge im Jahr 1924.

Im Bereich Feldabstandhalter kooperiert Mosdorfer mit seiner Tochterfirma DAMP s.r.l. (www.damp.it) – Download Folder Damp Folder

Die Hauptaufgabe des Feldabstandhalters ist die verlässliche Distanzierung der Leiterseile unter Betriebsbedingungen.

Schwingungsdämpfer sind eine Abhilfe für Schwingungen deren Ursache periodische Wirbelablösungen sind, welche das Seil zu Schwingungen anregen, die sich quer zur Windrichtung einstellen. Ohne Schwingungsdämpfer verursachen die Wechselbiegebelastungen Seilschäden bis zum Komplettbruch der Leiter.

Lichtbogenschutzarmaturen

Lichtbogenschutzarmaturen haben folgende Aufgaben zu erfüllen:

  • Schutz des Isolators vor den Auswirkungen eines Lichtbogens
  • Entgegenwirken dem Korona Effekt

LWL und Erdseilarmaturen

Erdseilenarmaturen

Erdseile von Freileitungen werden an den höchsten Punkten der Maste befestigt und dienen vorwiegend dem Schutz der Leiterseile gegen Blitzeinschläge und damit der Erhöhung der Betriebssicherheit.

Mit dem Trend der zentralen Fernüberwachung und Steuerung von betriebseigenen Anlagen wie Kraftwerken und Schaltanlagen wurden sukzessive Erdseile durch Erdseile mit integrierten Lichtwellenleitern ersetzt. Diese sogenannten LWL (Lichtwellenleiter) übernahmen zusätzlich zum aktiven Blitzschutz auch eine aktive Rolle in der Datenübertragung.

Isolatorkappen

Für Kunststoff Langstabisolatoren stellen wir Armaturen aus feuerverzinktem Stahl oder Aluminium her. Unser Lieferprogramm umfasst geschmiedete Pfannen-, Klöppel-, Gabel-, Y-Gabel-, Laschen- und Ösenkappen gemäß IEC 60120 und ANSI C29.2 sowie nach Kundenspezifikation. Die gesamte Armaturenherstellung erfolgt im eigenen Haus